Society Meetings


The 2016 Annual Meeting of the Sons of Colonial New England will be held on Tuesday, April 19, 2016, at the Army Navy Club in Washington, DC. Please consult upcoming issues of the Pine Tree Colonial for further details.


The twenty-fourth Annual General Meeting was held on Monday, April 20, 2015 at the Army and Navy Club on Farragut Square, 1901 Seventeenth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. in the George Washington Room.

The Governor General, Michael Scott Swisher, presided and called the meeting to order at 12:00 noon. Other officers present were: Deputy Governor General Rev. Canon Charles H. Nalls, Secretary General-designate Edward R. Lief, Esq, Chaplain General/Editor General Barry C. Howard, and Directors Paul M. Hays, Col. Andrew M. Johnson, and Richard E. Patten.

A total of 17 members and their guests were in attendance.

The invocation was given by The Reverend Canon Charles H. Nalls, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

The special luncheon menu consisted of: smoked tomato bisque soup, veal scaloppini, portabella mushrooms, sautéed spinach, grilled tomato sweet pea risotto, pear frangipane tart, coffee, and teas.

I. Proceedings

Governor General Swisher called for officer reports:

A report filed by Treasurer General John Hallberg Jones showed 21 members voting by proxy: 19 proxies were given to Founder Charles Owen Johnson, who then assigned those proxies and his own to Honorary Governor General Peter Arrott Dixon, representing non-attending members. An additional proxy was received from Chancellor General Duane L.C.M. Galles, who assigned his to Governor General Michael Scott Swisher. Thus, 21 members were entitled to vote by proxy. Mr. Jones’ report stated that 23 votes were needed for a quorum (15 percent of the Society’s 147 members); thus, the 21 proxies plus the 13 members in attendance far surpassed the minimum for a quorum.

A motion was approved to destroy the proxy ballots.

The minutes from the April 15, 2014 Annual Meeting (written by Secretary General Henry C. Howells IV and presented by Director Patten) were approved and Mr. Howells was thanked for his years of service in that office.

A report filed by Registrar General Robert D. Pollock reported a current active membership of 135 Life Members and 12 Annual Members, for a total of 147.

His report listed the following 9 new members (listed in order of enrollment): Robert H. Murphy III, Kelly D. Fitzpatrick, John W. David, Glen E. Beebe, Christopher W. Moberg, Daniel P. Ashley, Philip E. Sheldon, George A. Lipphardt, Sr., and James R. Campbell, Jr.

His report listed the following 8 member deaths reported (listed in order of being reported to the Society): Zachary S. Norville, Jr., Frederick I. Ordway III, Roger I. Gaby, Ronald P. Koch, Charles M. Hopkins, Ira N. Kellogg, Jr., Charles R. Farmer, Jr., and DeLancey B. Lewis, Jr.

A report by Treasurer General John Hallberg Jones reporting cash balances and investments was filed for publication in the Pine Tree Colonial.

Col. Andrew M. Johnson was unanimously re-elected to the Board of Directors for the three-year term ending in April 2018.

The report of the Board of Directors (prepared by Col. Johnson, Mr. Hays, and Mr. Patten, all of whom were in attendance) included the following:

  1. The Society obtained as of March 19, 2015 IRS certification as a 501(c)(3) federally tax exempt organization. Thanks were given to Mr. Howard for his work achieving that status.
  2. Mr. Swisher’s audit of the Society’s finances found everything to be in good order.
  3. The current system for soliciting proxies is deemed to serve the Society well.
  4. The Board is satisfied with the Society retaining its incorporation in the State of Delaware.
  5. The Board designated the following officers for the term 2015-2017:
    • Governor General: Rev. Canon Charles H. Nalls
    • Deputy Governor General: Col. Robert D. Pollock
    • Secretary General: Edward R. Lief, Esq.
    • Registrar General: Paul H. Hays
    • Chancellor General: Duane L.C.M. Galles, Esq.
    • Treasurer General: John Hallberg Jones
    • Chaplain General: Barry C. Howard
    • Editor General: Barry C. Howard

II. Other Business

Jeffrey LaRochelle was introduced as a prospective member.

Mr. Lief brought greetings from Founding Governor General Charles Owen Johnson, Esq. He reported that Mr. Johnson recently had moved from Arlington, Virginia to Mobile, Alabama and is residing at Murray House, a retirement center operated by the Episcopal Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast. Mr. Johnson had planned a trip to Washington, D.C. to attend this Annual General Meeting but the logistics of the trip had led him reluctantly to cancel it. Mr. Lief reported that Mr. Johnson has quickly become engaged in the life and culture of Mobile, especially working to improve its historic Magnolia Cemetery. Mr. Johnson has been enjoying his travels in the greater Mobile area and conveyed his continuing keen interest in this Society.

The 2016 Annual General Meeting of this Society was scheduled by consensus for Tuesday, April 19, 2016 at the Army and Navy Club on Farragut Square in the City of Washington, District of Columbia.

Mr. Nalls recommended Michael Scott Swisher for the position of Honorary Governor General and a motion to approve carried unanimously. An honorary pin was awarded to Mr. Swisher.

Recognition was accorded to all those who have been accorded the title Honorary Governor General by the reading of their names:
  • Charles Owen Johnson, Esq.
  • Col. Donald R. Perkins
  • Rev. Dr. Dixon A. Barr
  • Peter Arrott Dixon
  • Grahame Thomas Smallwood, Jr.
  • Col. Andrew M. Johnson
  • Professor Barrett Lee McKown
  • Duane L.C.M. Galles, Esq.
  • Robert E. Grim
  • Lt. Col. Richard S. Austin
  • David J. Stringfellow
  • Michael Scott Swisher

Mr. Swisher spoke on “Religious Establishment and Liberty of Conscience in Early New England 1620-1833.” The learned presentation was well received by the membership and prompted engaged discussion.

The meeting was adjourned, with the benediction being given by Canon Nalls.

Respectfully submitted,

Edward R. Lief, Esq.
Secretary General

All content ©2006 Sons of Colonial New England, unless otherwise indicated.
This site is hosted by Parts of this site require a JavaScript-enabled browser.
Please direct all site-related inquiries and comments to